The Ciro Zoppo Research Fellowship, generously funded by Ms. Rosemary Zoppo, encourages the study and performance of the works of lesser-known composers with a $3,000 prize for a graduate student in Musicology. (Click here to view the scholarship guidelines.) Students share their research in the form of a performance/lecture recital. Past winners and the associated concerts are as follows:


Melinda La Tour O'Brien

Title: Paschal de L'Estocart and Musical Print Culture during the French Wars of Religion

Date: May 31, 2013

Venue: Powell Library Rotunda

Participants: The Early Music Ensemble


Julius Reder Carlson

Title: Mendelssohn's "Jewish" Legacy? The Organ works of Louis Lwandowski and Beyond

Date: May 27, 2010

Venue: Organ Studio 1655A, Schoenberg Music Building

Participants: Christoph Bull and Ryan Rowen

Marcie Lynn Ray

Title: In Search of Madame Favart's "Voice": A musical biography

Date: June 4, 2009

Venue: Royce 314


Sara Gross

Title: The Accompanied Sonata and the Female Amateur in Eighteenth-Century France

Date: June 3, 2008

Venue: Royce 314

Participants: Samuel Baltimore, Lindsay Johnson, Raymond Knapp


Elizabeth Morgan

Title: Keyboard Works from the Musical Notebooks of Jane Austen

Date: November 30, 2007

Venue: Powell Library Rotunda

Participants: Mitchell Morris


Stephan Pennington

Title: Farewell to Weimar: Friedrich Hollaender's Last Cabaret-Revues Before Exile

Date: June 7, 2007

Venue: Royce 314

Participants: Hyun Chang, Kelsey Cowger, Peter Lawson, Mitchell Morris, Gray Raulerson, Marcie Ray, Holley Replogle


Kate Bartel

Title: Divine Love: Music from a Seventeenth Century Convent (The work of Chiara Margarita Cozzolani)

Date: May 2, 2003

Venue: Powell Library Rotunda

Participants: Olivia Mather, Caroline O'Meara, Erica Scheinberg, Jacqueline Warwick, Cecilia Sun, and Nina Treadwell


Gordon Haramaki

Title: Masques & Monody: Nicholas Lanier and the Italian Style

Date: May 10, 2002

Venue: Powell Library Rotunda

Participants: Jonathan Greenberg, Sara Gross, Elisabeth Le Guin, Erik Leidal, Louis Niebur, Caroline O'Meara, Erica Scheinberg